March 30, 2022

GT Clark Prize

The Association administers the G. T. Clark Trust Fund, set up to commemorate George Thomas Clark, the nineteenth-century antiquary. The G. T. Clark Prizes are awarded for the most distinguished published contributions to the study of the history and antiquities of Wales and the Marches during the previous quinquennium.

The last awards were made in 2017:

Prehistory: Elizabeth Walker for her work on the Welsh Palaeolithic.

Roman: David Hopewell for his work on geophysical survey and excavation of Roman fort environs and Roman sites and roads in north-west Wales.

Early Medieval: Professor Thomas Charles-Edwards for his Wales and the Britons 350-1064.

Medieval: Neil Ludlow for his Carmarthen Castle: The Archaeology of Government, also published in Welsh as Castell Caerfyrddin: Olrhain Hanes Llywodraethiant.

Post-Medieval: David Gwyn for his Welsh Slate: The Archaeology and History of an Industry, also published in Welsh as Llechi Cymru: Archaeoleg a Hanes.